• Forum Info
  • Register
  • FAQ
  • Search
  • Like us on Facebook!
Danzon 2013 Texas, Mexico, Cuba

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Danzon.com Forum Index ==> Danzón — The Music and Dance
View previous topic :: View next topic  
AustinMarlon

PostPosted: Jun 13, 13, 8:28    Post subject: Danzon 2013 Texas, Mexico, Cuba Reply with quote

Thanks for an opportunity to share and inquire. I am planning a dance adventure: Cuba or Veracruz? Moderator can separate, format or edit however you like to suit or format responses.
I am new and sorting out all the forums and topics. Thank you, I look forward to listening to your music. I am interested in many styles of traditional and historical music and dance, and have been a dancer for 20 years. From 1995-1999 I hosted "The Radio Havana Show" on public radio here in Austin. I started playing classic mambo and charanga / 50s era -and "modern" interpreters in that vein, but gradually evolved to playing classic Son Cubano and Danzon. My Cuban friends said I played grandfather music, but I feel (early) danzon compositions ...to be great American 20th Century music -ala Scott Joplin, Duke Ellington... Or Bob Wills.
My partner and I have performed traditional Cajun dance for Austin Cajun Aces for many years at Evangeline Cafe here in Austin. Google / youtube or come on down Monday evenings.
Of course I watched the movie "Danzon" -I (still) suppose it to be a reasonable overview of the way danzon comes across in Mexico City Salons and Veracruz parks and bars. I went to Veracruz /Plaza del Armas for several weeks in 1999 to study and dance -I know the basic box "+" -and how the compositions are constructed. The dance community in Veracruz was wonderful; warm and genuine hospitality! I wonder how things are different now, perhaps you might have some suggestions. I like Jalapa, too. Once I heard there is a large community in Oaxaca